Hospital Report 2006: Acute Care is the sixth in a series of hospital-specific reports that uses a balanced scorecard approach to report on the performance of hospitals that provide acute inpatient and ambulatory care services in Ontario. A total of 33 indicators were chosen by health care providers, managers, and researchers to examine the four important areas of acute care that form a balanced scorecard: System Integration and Change, Clinical Utilization and Outcomes, Patient Satisfaction, and Financial Performance and Condition.

A Women's Health perspective is integrated into the report to provide a better understanding of issues related to equity (sex differences).

This balanced scorecard for acute care hospitals in Ontario builds on previous acute care reports and includes hospital-specific performance indicator results for 95 acute care hospital corporations in Ontario in 2004/05. Together, these corporations represent 95% of all acute care hospitalizations in Ontario in 2004/05. High performing benchmark hospitals are identified.

An analysis of the proportion of patients hospitalized and discharged by LHIN area is included in this report.

Technical Summaries describing the methodological approaches used to develop this report are available.

Reporting Focus:

Analysis Available:
Three classifications are used: above average performance, average performance, and below average performance. 
Results are summarized by hospital, LHIN, peer group, and province.

Data Baseline:
System Integration and Change Indicators: 2006 
Clinical Utilization and Outcomes Indicators: 2004-2005 
Patient Satisfaction Indicators: 2004-2005 and 2005-2006 
Financial Performance and Condition Indicators: 2004-2005

95 hospital corporations, representing 95% of all acute care hospitalizations in 2004-2005.

Geoffrey M. Anderson, G. Ross Baker, Ian Button, Linda Choy, Imtiaz Daniel, Heather Dawson, Virginia Flintoft, Anyk Glussich, Linda McGillis Hall, Nicole Howe, Jeanie Lacroix, Carey M. Levinton, Marcus Loreti, Ian McKillop, Michael A. Murray, Jillian Paul, George Pink, Neil Seeman, Marc Tallentire, Joanne Tse, Jeniffer Wagg, Greg Zinck